Leave No Trace
First screened in May 2018 / Most recently screened in July 2018
Director: Debra Granik. Cast: Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Ben Foster, Jeff Kober, Dana Millican, Dale Dickey, David Pittman, Isaiah Stone, Alyssa Lynn. Screenplay: Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (based on the novel My Abandonment by Peter Rock).

Twitter Capsule: More humane if less audacious than Winter's Bone. Stokes equal yearnings for opposite outcomes. Deepens as it goes.

VOR:   Granik maintains an interest in non-urban, off-grid existence without repeating past idioms. New facets and tones to her confident filmmaking, too.

Photo © 2018 Bleecker Street Media/Bron Studios

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B+

Los Angeles Film Critics Association: Best Director
National Board of Review: Breakthrough Performance (McKenzie)
Independent Spirit Awards: Bonnie Award

Permalink Home 2018 ABC Blog E-Mail