The Winslow Boy (1999)
First screened in April 2020
Director: David Mamet. Cast: Nigel Hawthorne, Rebecca Pidgeon, Jeremy Northam, Guy Edwards, Matthew Pidgeon, Gemma Jones, Aden Gillett, Colin Stinton, Sarah Flind, Neil North, Alan Polonsky, Sara Stewart, Perry Fenwick. Screenplay: David Mamet (based on the play by Terrence Rattigan).

Twitter Capsule: Odd, negative-space courtroom drama where you never see the trial everyone's on about. Part enigmatic, part inert.

VOR:   Curious in many ways, if not fully compelling. Unusual structure, atypical deployment of Mamet tone and cadence, and intruiging on gender and ellipsis.

Photo © 1999 Sony Pictures Classics

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Permalink Home 1999 ABC Blog E-Mail