When We Leave
aka Die Fremde
First screened in January 2019
Director: Feo Aladag. Cast: Sibel Kekilli, Settar Tanriögen, Derya Alabora, Serhad Can, Tamer Yigit, Almila Bagriacik, Nizam Schiller, Ufuk Bayraktar, Florian Lukas, Alwara Höfels, Nursel Köse, Gümeç Alpay, Blanca Apilánez, Rosa Enskat, Marlon Pulat. Screenplay: Feo Aladag.

Twitter Capsule: I basically admired this but spent much of it hoping for a bit less restraint and the last act craving more of it.

VOR:   Not in full control of arrative turns or always inspired with framing or form—but this is admittedly a tough subject, and an important one.

Photo © 2010 Independent Artists Filmproduktion, © 2011 Olive Films

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Berlin Film Festival: Label Europa Cinemas Prize

Permalink Home 2010 (wp) 2011 (us) ABC Blog E-Mail