Unstrung Heroes
First screened in April 2015
Director: Diane Keaton. Cast: Nathan Watt, Andie MacDowell, John Turturro, Michael Richards, Maury Chaykin, Kendra Krull, Celia Weston, Jack McGee, Anne De Salvo, Becky Ann Baker. Screenplay: Richard LaGravenese (based on the book by Franz Lidz).

Twitter Capsule: Too much polish or not enough? Aura of the quirky collectible: a limit but also a source of appeal. Moving finish.

VOR:   Even when the performances or the scene constructions achieve admirable poignancy, you wouldn't call them innovative. Touching and unusual but not quite "original."

Photo © 1995 Touchstone Pictures

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Original Score (Musical/Comedy): Thomas Newman

Permalink Home 1995 ABC Blog E-Mail