The Tin Drum (Die Blechtrommel)
Director: Volker Schlöndorff. Cast: David Bennent, Angela Winkler, Mario Adorf, Katharina Thalbach, Daniel Olbrychski, Tina Engel, Berta Drews, Charles Aznavour, Roland Teubner, Wigand Wittig, Mariella Oliveri, Fritz Hakl. Screenplay: Jean-Claude Carrière, Mario Adorf, and Volker Schlöndorff, with additional dialogue by Günter Grass (based on the novel by Günter Grass).

Short review included as part of my 2005 New Year's Resolutions. Grade: B+

Academy Award Nominations and Winners:
Best Foreign-Language Film

Other Awards:
Cannes Film Festival: Palme d'Or (Best Picture; tie)
Los Angeles Film Critics Association: Best Foreign-Language Film
National Board of Review: Best Foreign-Language Film

Permalink Home ABC Blog E-Mail