Director: John Ford. Cast: John Wayne, Claire Trevor, Thomas Mitchell, John Carradine, Donald Meek, Louise Platt, Andy Devine, George Bancroft, Berton Churchill, Tom Tyler. Screenplay: Dudley Nichols (based on the story "Stage to Lordsburg" by Ernest Haycox).

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: A

Academy Award Nominations and Winners:
Best Picture
Best Director: John Ford
Best Supporting Actor: Thomas Mitchell
Best Cinematography (Black & White): Bert Glennon
Best Art Direction: Alexander Toluboff
Best Film Editing: Otho Lovering & Dorothy Spencer
Best Original Score: Richard Hageman, W. Franke Harling, John Leipold, and Leo Shuken

Other Awards:
New York Film Critics Circle: Best Director (Ford)

Permalink Home 1939 ABC Blog E-Mail