Star Trek Into Darkness
First screened in February 2014
Director: J.J. Abrams. Cast: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch, Peter Weller, Alice Eve, Zoë Saldana, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, Bruce Greenwood, Anton Yelchin, John Cho, Noel Clarke, Nazneen Contractor. Screenplay: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman, and Damon Lindelof (based on characters and a television series by Gene Roddenberry).
Twitter Capsule: Stubborn melange of the elegant and the clumsy, pursuing rich themes while endlessly fawning over itself.

Photo © 2013 Paramount Pictures/Skydance Productions/Bad Robot
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: C+

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Visual Effects: Roger Guyett, Pat Tubach, Ben Grossmann, and Burt Dalton

Permalink Home 2013 ABC Blog E-Mail