Stations of the Cross
aka Kreuzweg
First screened in October 2014
Director: Dietrich Brüggemann. Cast: Lea van Acken, Franziska Weisz, Michael Kamp, Florian Stetter, Moritz Knapp, Lucie Aron, Anna Brüggemann, Georg Wesch, Ramin Yazdani, Hanns Zischler, Sven Taddicken, Birge Schade. Screenplay: Dietrich Brüggemann and Anna Brüggemann.

Twitter Capsule: Modern martyr tale, austere in style, sober in theme, but subtly elastic in tone. Few huge surprises.

VOR:   Evidence of rigorous direction, from a helmer who has rarely attempted a project like this. Unusual purview on contemporary faith. Style familiar from other festival titles, but still memorable.

Photo © 2014 Film Movement/UFA Fiction

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B

Berlin International Film Festival: Best Screenplay; Prize of the Ecumenical Jury

Permalink Home 2014 (wp) 2015 (us) ABC Blog E-Mail