Sparkle (2012)
First screened in August 2012
Director: Salim Akil. Cast: Jordin Sparks, Carmen Ejogo, Whitney Houston, Derek Luke, Tika Sumpter, Mike Epps, Omari Hardwick, Tamela J. Mann, Michael Beach, Linda Boston, Brely Evans, Terrence Jenkins, Curtis Armstrong, Cee-Lo Green. Screenplay: Mara Brock Akil (based on an earlier screenplay by Howard Rosenman and Joel Schumacher).
Twitter Capsule: Story beats are precisely what you're expecting. Camera a bit flat. Strong pacing and pitch, though, and committed actors.

Photo © 2012 TriStar Pictures/Sony Pictures Entertainment
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Permalink Home 2012 ABC Blog E-Mail