First screened in December 2012
Directors: Chris Butler and Sam Fell. Animated. Voice Cast: Kodi Smit-McPhee, Tucker Albrizzi, Anna Kendrick, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Casey Affleck, Leslie Mann, Jeff Garlin, John Goodman, Elaine Stritch, Jodelle Ferland, Bernard Hill, Tempestt Bledsoe, Alex Borstein, Hannah Noyes. Screenplay: Chris Butler.
Twitter Capsule: Animation impressive and garish, often in the same shot. Flat main character, uneven humor. Still, worth sticking with.

Photo © 2012 Focus Features/Laika Entertainment
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Academy Award Nominations:
Best Animated Feature

Other Awards:
National Board of Review: Spotlight Award (Goodman; also cited for Argo, Flight, and Trouble with the Curve)

Permalink Home 2012 ABC Blog E-Mail