The Normal Heart
First screened in May 2014
Director: Ryan Murphy. TV Movie. Cast: Mark Ruffalo, Matt Bomer, Taylor Kitsch, Jim Parsons, Joe Mantello, Julia Roberts, Alfred Molina, BD Wong, Stephen Spinella, Denis O'Hare, Finn Wittrock, Jonathan Groff, Frank De Julio, William DeMeritt, Adam B. Shapiro, Will Bradley, Corey Brill, Corey Stoll, Wenne Alton Davis. Screenplay: Larry Kramer (based on his play).

Twitter Capsule: Garish shooting, twitchy editing can't dim power of essential tale, a rare, lucid defense of anger. Devoted cast.

VOR:   Impressive—and sad—how risky and valuable this material remains 30 years after Kramer wrote it. Less to appreciate in the filmmaking, though.

Photo © 2014 HBO Films

Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Emmy Award Nominations and Winners:
Best TV Movie
Best Director (TV Movie/Miniseries): Ryan Murphy
Best Actor (TV Movie/Miniseries): Mark Ruffalo
Best Supporting Actress (TV Movie/Miniseries): Julia Roberts
Best Supporting Actor (TV Movie/Miniseries): Matt Bomer
Best Supporting Actor (TV Movie/Miniseries): Joe Mantello
Best Supporting Actor (TV Movie/Miniseries): Alfred Molina
Best Supporting Actor (TV Movie/Miniseries): Jim Parsons
Best Screenplay (TV Movie/Miniseries): Larry Kramer
Best Cinematography (TV Movie/Miniseries): Daniel Moder
Best Casting (TV Movie/Miniseries): Amanda Mackey Johnson & Cathy Sandrich
Best Non-Prosthetic Makeup (TV Movie/Miniseries): Eryn Krueger Mekash, Sherri Berman Laurence, Nicky Pattison, LuAnn Claps, Mike Mekash, and Carla White

Permalink Home 2014 ABC Blog E-Mail