Fruitvale Station
aka Fruitvale
First screened in July 2013
Director: Ryan Coogler. Cast: Michael B. Jordan, Melonie Diaz, Octavia Spencer, Keenan Coogler, Trestin George, Michael James, Kenny Grimm, Thomas Wright, Ariana Neal, Ahna O'Reilly, Joey Oglesby, Kevin Durand, Chad Michael Murray, Alejandra Nolasco, Marjorie Shears, Bianca Rodriguez III, Destiny Ekwueme. Screenplay: Ryan Coogler.
Twitter Capsule: Coogler keeps flashing turn-signals, seeking tale of structural racism in anecdotal details. But last act lands.

Photo © 2013 The Weinstein Company/Significant Productions
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: B–

Cannes Film Festival: Avenir Prize (Un Certain Regard)
Sundance Film Festival: Grand Jury Prize (Dramatic); Audience Award (Dramatic)
New York Film Critics Circle: Best First Film (Coogler)
National Board of Review: Best Supporting Actress (Spencer); Breakthrough Actor (Jordan); Best New Filmmaker (Coogler)
Boston Society of Film Critics: Best New Filmmaker (Coogler)

Permalink Home 2013 ABC Blog E-Mail