The Best Years of Our Lives
Director: William Wyler. Cast: Dana Stevens, Fredric March, Myrna Loy, Teresa Wright, Harold Russell, Hoagy Carmichael, Virginia Mayo, Cathy O'Donnell, Gladys George, Erskine Sanford. Screenplay: Robert E. Sherwood (based on the novel Glory for Me by MacKinlay Kantor).

Not yet reviewed in full. A

Academy Award Nominations and Winners:
Best Picture
Best Director: William Wyler
Best Actor: Fredric March
Best Supporting Actor: Harold Russell
Best Screenplay: Robert E. Sherwood
Best Film Editing: Daniel Mandell
Best Original Score (Drama or Comedy): Hugo Friedhofer
Best Sound: Franklin Milton
Best Visual Effects: A. Arnold Gillespie, Robert MacDonald, and Milo B. Lory
Best Sound: Gordon Sawyer
Honorary Award: Harold Russell

Golden Globe Nominations and Winners:
Best Picture (Drama)
Special Award (Non-Professional Acting): Harold Russell

Other Awards:
New York Film Critics Circle: Best Picture; Best Director
National Board of Review: Best Director

Permalink Home ABC Best Pics Blog E-Mail