The Bells of St. Mary's
Reviewed in February 2010
Director: Leo McCarey. Cast: Bing Crosby, Ingrid Bergman, Henry Travers, Joan Carroll, Martha Sleeper, William Gargan, Richard Tyler, Una O'Connor, Ruth Donnelly, Bobby Frasco, Edna May Wonacott. Screenplay: Dudley Nichols (based on an original screen story by Leo McCarey).

Photo © 1945 RKO Radio Pictures
Not yet reviewed in full. Grade: D+

Academy Award Nominations and Winners:
Best Picture
Best Director: Leo McCarey
Best Actress: Ingrid Bergman
Best Actor: Bing Crosby
Best Film Editing: Harry Marker
Best Original Score (Comedy/Drama): Robert Emmett Dolan
Best Original Song: "Aren't You Glad You're You?"
Best Sound: Stephen Dunn

Golden Globe Nominations:
Best Motion Picture Actress: Ingrid Bergman

Other Awards:
New York Film Critics Circle: Best Actress (Bergman; also cited for Spellbound)

Permalink Home ABC Blog E-Mail